Adult Fiction,  Book Promos,  Book Reviews,  Book Talk,  Dystopian SFF,  Science Fiction & Fantasy

The Rose – 4 Star Book Review

Welcome to the October 29th review stop on the blog tour for The Rose (Vol 1.) by P.D. Alleva, organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Be sure to follow the rest of the tour for more spotlights, reviews, interviews with the author, and a giveaway! (More on that at the end of this post.)

And yes, yes I did tease this stop in this week’s WWW Wednesday post.

Please note that this post contains affiliate links, which means there is no additional cost to you if you shop using my links, but I will earn a small percentage in commission. A program-specific disclaimer is at the bottom of this post.

About the Book

The Rose Vol I
A Dystopian Science Fiction Thriller
by P.D. Alleva

Published 7 October 2020
by Quill and Birch Publishing

Genre: Dystopian Science Fiction Thriller
Page Count: 316
Add it to your Goodreads TBR!

Sandy Cox believed WWIII was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed, Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK

My Review

My Rating: 4 Stars

I received a complimentary review copy of The Rose in exchange for an honest review through participation in a blog tour with Goddess Fish Promotions. Thank you to PD Alleva and Goddess Fish Promotions for the opportunity! This has not swayed my review. My thoughts are my own and my review is honest.

The USA declared war on Russia and China, and the world suffered. As WWIII dies away and the dust begins to settle, nothing will ever be the same again. Aliens have been living beneath us, and now that we’ve done so much to destroy ourselves, nothing can keep us safe. Governments used to keep us in the dark, but those governments have fallen. It’s now humanity vs the Dracs, a vampiric race of aliens, and they’ve abducted our heroine Sandy’s unborn child.

This is a powerful, suspenseful book full of so many twists and turns and two-faced characters that keep you guessing right through to the very end! The world itself is also so expertly crafted and thought out. I would not be surprised if someone told me Alleva has at least 10 times as many words as the novel’s word count written somewhere else that’s just world-building. And unlike so many novels I’ve come across with drastically different dystopian worlds written for an adult audience, this one doesn’t beat you over the head with info dumps nor does it leave you stranded with too many ambiguous terms that haven’t been defined.

This book is full of multiple POVs, which may turn some readers off as it can be difficult to properly track and attach to more than two or three POVs in a single book in general, but I think Alleva has handled it well. My favourite POV to read was Sandy’s, but I really enjoyed the fact that not all of the POVs were the “good guys” and that we got a well-rounded picture of what all sides are up to.

This book is fast-paced, gripping, and completely unique as far as vampire stories, dystopian worlds, etc. goes based on what I’ve read before, and I absolutely recommend it to anyone who loves vampires, aliens, and stories about living past the end of times. With that said, this book is quite dark and there is battle and gore aplenty, so squeamish and younger readers be warned.

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK

About the Author

PD Alleva is an alternative fiction author. His novels cross genres, blending mystery, conspiracy, psychology, and action with horror and dystopian science fiction. Alternative fiction is PD’s attempt at describing what readers uncover in any one of his books, a new discovery towards mainstream storytelling. He’s been writing since childhood, creating and developing stories with brash and impactful concepts that he would describe are metaphors for the shifting energies that exist in the universe. PD exists inside of his own universe, working diligently on The Rose Vol. II and exceptional horror novels. Be prepared for Golem, PD’s upcoming horror thriller.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Amazon | Goodreads

Giveaway Alert!

One lucky follower fo the tour will walk away with a $50 gift card to either Amazon or Barnes & Noble, winner’s choice! Remember you can earn extra entries by visiting other stops on the tour. (Tour schedule)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Jenna is the artist/illustrator and author behind Westveil Publishing and its sub-banner platforms Jenna Gets Creative and The Westveil Archives. She live in Newfoundland, Canada with her husband, daughter, and feline overlords.

16 Comments

Leave a Reply to PD Alleva Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: