Book Talk,  Tags & BookTube

WWW Wednesdays 2020-10-28

Last week’s Wednesday slot was extremely full, but not this week! Let’s do a WWW Wednesdays post. This book blogger meme is hosted by Taking On a World of Words.

Please note that this post contains affiliate links, which means there is no additional cost to you if you shop using my links, but I will earn a small percentage in commission. A program-specific disclaimer is at the bottom of this post.

What are you currently reading?

The Rose Vol I
A Dystopian Science Fiction Thriller
by P.D. Alleva

Published 7 October 2020
by Quill and Birch Publishing

Genre: Dystopian Science Fiction Thriller
Page Count: 316
Add it to your Goodreads TBR!

Sandy Cox believed WWIII was over. But for those Alien Vampires, War Has Just Begun.

Forty-eight hours after a World War III treaty is signed, Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human.

And they’ve taken her unborn child.

Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with THE BLADES, a sacred alien martial art, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.

But the vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot. Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, battling genetically mutated humans, aliens and monsters.

When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!

Fans of The Hunger Games, George RR Martin, VE Schwab, Star Wars, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, intelligent, edge of your seat dystopian sci-fi action thriller.

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK

I’m reading this one for a tour stop later this week, and so far I like it! We’ll see, though. If this tour stop comes around and only has an excerpt, that’ll mean it wasn’t at least a 3 star read in my opinion, because tour organizers generally ask us not to post low-rated reviews during the tour period. Never fear! My reviews are always honest, and if I didn’t like it I’ll give it an appropriate review on Goodreads. But I’m sure this one is going to be a good review.

A Deadly Education
The Scholomance Book One
by Naomi Novik

Published 29 September 2020
by Del Rey Books

Genre: YA Fantasy
Page Count: 336
Add it to your Goodreads TBR!

A Deadly Education is set at Scholomance, a school for the magically gifted where failure means certain death (for real) — until one girl, El, begins to unlock its many secrets.

There are no teachers, no holidays, and no friendships, save strategic ones. Survival is more important than any letter grade, for the school won’t allow its students to leave until they graduate… or die! The rules are deceptively simple: Don’t walk the halls alone. And beware of the monsters who lurk everywhere.

El is uniquely prepared for the school’s dangers. She may be without allies, but she possesses a dark power strong enough to level mountains and wipe out millions. It would be easy enough for El to defeat the monsters that prowl the school. The problem? Her powerful dark magic might also kill all the other students.

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK

I finished the last audiobook I had checked out on Libby on Monday evening and went ahead and removed the “deliver later” delay on a couple of the audiobooks I’d sent back out into circulation while I caught up. This was not one of them. Apparently I found a lucky copy, and I have 7 days from Monday evening to listen to it or continue to wait for my actual hold to come in. My hold on November’s book club read won’t be in for over a week and my next audiobook tour isn’t until the 8th, so why not. Let’s find out what everyone’s talking about!

What did you recently finish reading?

In the City of the Nightmare King by V. S. Santoni – 3 Stars, review on Goodreads. This was a NetGalley ARC. I’ll probably cross-post the review over here some day, but as a “meh” review it isn’t a priority.

Dawn of the Overlords by Kevin Potter – 4 Stars

She’s the One Who Thinks Too Much by S. R. Cronin – 4 Stars

Wolf Born by J. N. Moon – 4 Stars

What do you think you’ll read next?

Calla (Pixieland Diaries Book 2) by Christina Bauer – Tour date November 2

Awaken by B. L. Callaghan – Tour date November 5

The Waltz of Devil’s Creek by Justine Carver – Tour date November 6

The Lost Sentinel by Suzanne Rogerson – Tour date November 8

.


Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Jenna is the artist/illustrator and author behind Westveil Publishing and its sub-banner platforms Jenna Gets Creative and The Westveil Archives. She live in Newfoundland, Canada with her husband, daughter, and feline overlords.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: