Book Promos,  Book Talk

Dead Silent [Book Tour with Excerpt]

Welcome to one of the stops on the book blast for Dead Silent, organized by Goddess Fish Promotions. Follow the rest of the tour for more excerpt spotlights and a giveaway! (More on that at the end of this post.)

Please note that this post contains affiliate links, which means there is no additional cost to you if you shop using my links, but I will earn a small percentage in commission. A program-specific disclaimer is at the bottom of this post.

About the Collection

Dead Silent: A Box Set Collection

by Judith Lucci, Fiona Quinn, Sandra Woffington, Michelle Medhat, Dan Petrosini, Greta Boris, David Berens, J.D. Weston, Tom Fowler, Steven Moore, L.K. Hill, Gavin Reese, K.C. Sivils, Tom Schneider, Elleby Harper, Dwayne Gill, James Harper, Jay Tinsiano, Jay Newton

Published: 19 January 2021
by Rukia Publishing US

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense (Noir Crime)
Page Count: 2,617 (wow!)
Add it to your Goodreads TBR!

The secrets must be kept, or the body count will rise…

Are you ready for the eighteen deadly crime thrillers that will keep you up all night?

Shrouded in mystery, these thrillers by eighteen Wall Street Journal, USA Today and International Best-selling authors, will keep you turning the pages for weeks. It’s a limited time collection that will introduce you to your new favorite writers.

What made the art thieves kill? Why does the old case haunt the detective? Can the assassins be stopped?

From Los Angeles to Scotland to Prague, the twists and turns will leave you in a cold sweat, needing to know what happens next with page after page of the deadliest crimes you can imagine.

This mystery, thriller, and suspense boxset is perfect for fans of David Baldacci, James Patterson, Chris Collett, Angela Marsons, and Lisa Gray.

Currently on sale in Kindle eBook format for $0.99 USD!

Amazon US | Amazon CA | Amazon UK | Apple | B&N | Kobo

Excerpt

Excerpt from Mortuary School:

I read the heading as I took it from her. Phi Sigma Eta – A Co-ed Fraternity. I laughed and immediately felt guilty. Why shouldn’t there be a fraternity for mortuary students? Hadn’t I spent hours trying to convince Gran that the death industry was a noble one? “Are you going to join?” I asked.

She snorted again. “No way. My mama would kill me. On the way out the door this morning,  

she says,” the girl adopted an artificially high tone, “Rochelle, watch yourself, girl. There’s gonna be a lot of strange folks at that school. You’re not there for socializing.”

I nodded. I got it. I’d tried to convince Gran that funeral directors were like the pastors of their own ever-changing flocks. I’d thought this was an especially nice touch, since Gran was born again in the 1970s during the Jesus Movement. It didn’t sway her. “Yeah, my Gran isn’t too crazy about my career choice either.”

“Oh, Mama is fine with the career choice. It was hers, not mine.”

I looked Rochelle up and down critically for the first time. She didn’t look like most of the students on campus, and it wasn’t because she was Black. She was too all-American. Too clean cut. Too old, probably only a couple of years younger than me. And above all, too pretty in a TV newscaster kind of way. “Why did you agree? I mean, it’s kind of . . . Well, you gotta be into it.”

“My uncle owns a funeral home and. . . It’s a long story.” She stuck out a hand. “Rochelle.” I took it and shook. “Imogene.”

We fell into step, meandering through a swirl of leaves in the general direction of what I hoped were the classrooms.

“Where are you headed?” Rochelle asked. “Anatomy 101. How about you?”

“Same. Do you know where it is?”

I stopped walking. “No. I thought you did.”

Rochelle pulled a campus map from her backpack. “I think it’s behind the registration building.”

We looked at the map together, pivoted, then pushed our way down a narrow wind-tunnel of a path between the registration offices and the library.

Find Out More

Giveaway Alert!

Three (3) lucky followers of this book blitz will win $10 gift cards to Amazon or Barnes & Noble, winner’s choice! Other posts on this blitz can be found here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Jenna is the artist/illustrator and author behind Westveil Publishing and its sub-banner platforms Jenna Gets Creative and The Westveil Archives. She live in Newfoundland, Canada with her husband, daughter, and feline overlords.

8 Comments

  • Margaret Daly-Rukia Publishing US

    Huge thanks to the host for welcoming the Dead Silent authors to your forum. I’m Margaret Daly from Rukia Publishing. I’m so excited to be able to meet all of you and am happy to answer any questions!

  • Kevin Sivils (K.C. Sivils)

    Thank you for hosting visiting Dead Silent authors on your forum. I’m K.C. Sivils, author of the Inspector Thomas Sullivan scifi crime noir series and the Agent Nelson Paine historical mystery fiction series.

    As often as my “real day-job” allows I plan to visit. I’d love to have the opportunity to interact with readers!

  • James Harper

    Thanks for having us! I’m James Harper and I write the Evan Buckley thrillers series. I’m thrilled to be a part of the set with these great authors. Glad to meet you all.

  • David Berens

    Hi there. I’m David Berens and when I’m not writing, I teach tennis and pickleball and wrangle my four-year-old girl and two-year-old boy. Being a part of the DEAD SILENT Box Set gave me an opportunity to step outside my writing lane of what I call Tropical Thrillers and write something with a decidedly Southern flair. I wanted to write something with Grisham-esque courtroom style and rich, King-like characters. And I crafted the story in the hopes that, once it got going, it would be VERY difficult to put it down. I know you’ll enjoy this set and I’m so honored to be a part of this group of amazing writers. If you have any questions for me directly, I’m more than happy to answer (in between hitting crushing serves and wicked backhands.)

  • Liesel Hill

    Huge thank you for featuring our boxed set! We’ve now hit #1 in three Amazon categories. We so appreciate all the support, and hope everyone loves our stories! We absolutely love writing them and sharing them with readers. I’m L.K. Hill, author of Lost Diamond Girls. I generally write stories about serial killers. If that’s your jam, I’m your girl. ;D Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: